This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Senegal

Senegal is made up of 14 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Senegal. Information on all primary administrative regions in Senegal.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Senegal alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Senegal

There are 14 regions in Senegal in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Senegal
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Dakar Dakar1.2,431,062Dakar Dakar2,476,400
Diourbel Diourbel2.1,420,082Diourbel Diourbel-
Fatick Fatick3.24,243Fatick Fatick-
Kaffrine Région de Kaffrine4.28,396Kaffrine Kaffrine28,396
Kaolack Kaolack5.918,355Kaolack Kaolack172,305
Kedougou Région de Kédougou6.152,134Kedougou Kédougou17,922
Kolda Kolda7.633,652Kolda Kolda58,809
Louga Louga8.835,325Louga Louga67,154
Matam Matam9.477,964Matam Matam15,306
Saint-Louis Saint-Louis10.732,667Saint-Louis Saint-Louis176,000
Sedhiou Région de Sédhiou11.434,877Sedhiou Sédhiou19,702
Tambacounda Tambacounda12.649,854Tambacounda Tambacounda78,800
Thies Région de Thiès13.1,709,112Thies Thiès-
Ziguinchor Ziguinchor14.523,840Ziguinchor Ziguinchor159,778